Elections 2013: PPP announced candidates for Provincial and National Assembly Seats in Sindh

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) officially announced the candidates contesting for most of the national and provincial assembly seats in Sindh.

Qaim Ali Shah President PPP Sindh
Qaim Ali Shah President PPP Sindh

Former Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, who is also PPP president of Sindh chapter, revealed the final list of party candidates for the May 11 election at a press conference on Tuesday.

PPP has not announced the nominations for ticketholders in Thatta and Karachi.

The decision by Shirazi group to part ways with the PPP seems to be the reason in Thatta, but there was no plausible reason for deferring the announcement about Karachi candidates who have already been nominated by the parliamentary board of Sindh headed by Faryal Talpur, sister of President Asif Ali Zardari.

PPP list of candidates for provincial and national assembly seats in Sindh include:

PPP candidates for Sindh Assembly:

– PS 27: Ghulam Qadir Chandio
– PS 32: Manzoor Wasan
– PS 35 (Larkana): Altaf Unar (former PML-Q leader)
– PS 40 (Kamabar Shahdadkot: Nadir Magsi (disqualified over fake degree issue)
– PS 42 (Warrah): Sardar Chandio (former PML-Q leader)
– PS 50: Sharjeel Inaam Memon
– PS 57: Hasnain Mirza (son of Drs Zulfiqar and Fehmida Mirza)
– PS 73 (Jamshoro): Murad Ali Shah (featured in a dual nationality case)

PPP candidates for National Assembly:

– NA 204 (Larkana): Ayaz Somro
– NA 207 (Kamber Shahdadkot Larkana): Faryal Talpur (sister of President Zardari)
– NA 208 (Jacobabad-I): Eijaz Jakhrani
– NA 209: Mir Hazar Khan Bajrani
– NA 210 (Kashmor): Ehsan ur Rehman Mazari
– NA 213 (Shaheed Benazirabad): Azra Fazal Pechoho (sister of President Zardari)
– NA 214 (Nawabshah): Syed Ghulam Mustufa Shah
– NA 215 (Khairpur-I): Nawab Wasan
– NA 216 (Khairpur-II): Sadiq Muhammad
– NA 218: Makhdoom Amin Fahim
– NA 219 (Hyderabad): Ali Mohammad Sehto
– NA 220 (Tando Illahyar): Sagheer Ahmed Qureshi
– NA 222: Naveed Qamar
– NA 223: Abdul Sattar Bachani
– NA 224 (Badin): Sardar Kamal Khan Chang
– NA 228 (Umerkot): Yousuf Talpur
– NA 229 (Tharparker): Sher Muhammad
– NA 230 (Tharparker): Syed noor Muhammad Shah
– NA 231 (Jamshoro): Malik Asad Sikander
– NA 235 (Sanghar): Shazia Atta Marri (ex-Information Minister Sindh)
– NA 255 (Badin): Dr Fahmida Mirza (ex-Speaker National Assembly and wife of Dr Zulfiqar Mirza)

Previous PPP MNAs and MPAs who have not given election tickets this time:

– Pir Mazharul Haq (ex-Education Minister Sindh)
– Gul Muhammad Jakhrani
– Saifullah Dharejo
– Shahid Bhutto
– Waheeda Shah (infamous for slapping the returning officer in bi-elections)

PPP has not allotted any National Assembly seat to minority representatives to contest the general election, but two provincial assembly seats have been given to Dr Gian Chand and Dr Mahesh Malani who will contest the election from Diplo and Mithi of Tharparkar district, respectively.

Leave a Reply