Sunni Tehreek to rename, participate in next elections

Sunni Tehreek - Sarwat Ejaz Qadri

Sunni Tehreek will be renamed as Pakistan Sunni Tehreek and participate in next elections as a national political partly.

This was announced by Sunni Tehreek chief Sarwat Ejaz Qadri in “Jan Nisaran-e-Mustafa Conference” at the Nishtar Park, Karachi.

Back in 2009 Mr. Qadri had announced something similar when he formed Pakistan Inqilabi Tehreek as a political wing of Sunni Tehreek. It may have not worked out well, hence the need of another brand.

Sunni Tehreek, or ST for short, was formed after its original leaders diverted from Dawat-e-Islami. Some still call it a militant wing of Dawat-e-Islami. Unfortunately, all of the founding members and the top tier of the Tehreek are dead, most of them in a blast at Nishtar Park in April 2006, that killed more than 50 people and its perpetrators are still at large.

With emergence of Sunni Tehreek as a political party, release of Aafaq Ahmed and subsequent activities of MQM Haqiqi, and the rise of PTI in Karachi present a collective competition to MQM that it dare not ignore.

About Kashif Aziz

Blogger, Internet Consultant, Procrastinator.

4 Responses to Sunni Tehreek to rename, participate in next elections

  1. smkamran bukhari November 10, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Pakistan Sunni Tehreek will Win INSHALLAH because they can deliver to Nation Positive….

  2. asad February 29, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Sunni Tehreek will win next elections InshaAllah.

  3. Kashif Aziz February 8, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    Pakistan Falah Party aka Falah-e-Insaniyat is another name for Jamat ud Dawah.

    Sunni Tehreek (ST) is renamed to Pakistan Sunni Tehreek (PST)

  4. Hina Safdar February 7, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Is it PFP? Saw Pakistan Falah Party banners recently in Karachi.

Leave a Reply